Tangible / Centrally Assessed Tax
Tangible Personal Property Defined
Tangible Personal Property includes:
- Furnishings in rental units
- Leasehold improvements
- Mobile home attachments on rented land
- Supplies and leased equipment
Florida Statute 193.052
Florida Statute 193.052 requires that anyone in possession of assets as of January 1 must file a Tangible Personal Property Tax Return (PDF) to receive the Amendment 1 Exemption of $25,000. All tangible personal property must be reported no later than April 1 of each year in order to avoid penalties.
Taxes assessed to railroads utilizing portions of land in St. Lucie County are billed in the same manner as Personal Property Taxes, and subject to the same delinquent collection methods.
The office of the Property Appraiser establishes the value of the property. The Board of County Commissioners, School Board, City Councils and other levying bodies set the millage rates. One mill equals $1 per $1,000 of property value. Using these values and allowing for exemptions, the tax roll is completed by the Property Appraiser and approved by the Department of Revenue.
Prohibiting Levying Ad Valorem Taxes on Real Property & Tangible Personal Property
Florida's Constitution prohibits state government from levying ad valorem taxes on real property and tangible personal property. This gives counties, school districts, municipalities and special taxing districts the right to levy ad valorem taxes on real property and tangible personal property. The state legislature can and does regulate the maximum rate at which ad valorem taxes can be levied and the manner in which they are collected.
The St. Lucie County Property Appraiser's Office is required by law to place a value on non-filer accounts plus a penalty. Contact their Tangible Personal Property Department at 772-462-1000 with questions.